Bringing Your Crew (Cut) Together

crew cut

Need the perfect crew?

The short low- to no-maintenance hairstyle of the “crew cut” (which according to Wikipedia was popularized by the Yale rowing crew in the 1890′s. Wonder how long Harvard folks resisted wearing it) has been worn by everyone from Marines to regular folks like you and I for over a century, and in my opinion, it rarely gets its due respect. Crew cuts, or “buzz cuts” down to 1/4″ long are great for guys in summer to keep your head from overheating while working or having fun outside in the heat. I wear a 1/4″ on the sides and 1/2″ on the top crew cut during summer for running, and it pains me to see other runners with a huge melon of hair. It’s got to feel like running with a blanket on your head! High and tight on your head is the way to go.

Hence my advocacy for the versatile Crew. It’s quick, clean and I spend less time in front of a mirror in the morning than the Elephant Man. Of course, I am all about efficiency, too. There is one problem that I have found with wearing a Crew cut in that it doesn’t last. My hair grows so quick that in a few weeks it’s starting to get longer and rougher looking. Guys, you know how you start to get those awesome side flyaways and your head looks like the rabbit-ear antennae on an old TV? Yup, happens to me a lot. Next thing I know I’m burning through hair paste and spending way too much time in front of the mirror. So it’s time for a haircut every four weeks to keep it looking right. If only there were some device out there that I could use at this point to maintain that haircut that I could buy…

About aircutblog

The AirCut is a home hair cutting device for men, moms who cut their son's hair, and for womne with short hair. As seen on Rachael Ray, Real Milwaukee, and your local barber shop.
This entry was posted in haircut. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bringing Your Crew (Cut) Together

  1. Pingback: Get an Ivy League Hairstyle Without the Harvard Price Tag | Hair Clippings

Leave a Reply

