Keep Your Twitter Followers Close and Your Facebook Fans Closer…AirCut and Social Media

Russ here from AirCut, blogging about this wonderful social media experiment that all of us in the arena of the traditional Sales and Marketing roles are now morphing into (it should also be noted that I was a pretty good IT guy babysitting networks before social media, also). I say “experiment” as a term of endearment for the trade, but I will also say that everyone in social media is experimenting. Anyone who tells you differently is lying.

While we have come to recognize folks like Pete Cashmore at Mashable or Mark Zuckerberg at Facebook as perhaps being toward the front of the pack as Social Media is concerned, we are all still learning this trade. I’ve seen this trend before: In IT and Website design. With those fields, it was because the technology just keeps changing so fast it was hard to keep up. But with social media, I think the reason has more to do with the fact that what CUSTOMERS want and what they ask for is always changing. As social marketers, we are always listening more than we are talking, but people don’t want the same things day after day or year after year. So we slowly traverse the slippery slope that is the customer’s needs and keep adjusting our social media footing accordingly.

I like to use the AirCut as my example because it is a great product and it’s why I come to work every day. We’ve gotten over 10,500 views of our videos on YouTube alone (almost as many on Metacafe and others) and shipped AirCuts to countries all over the globe, and yet every Facebook fan on our page matters to us. Every Twitter follower matters to us. Because each one is a voice of my brand, and listening to that voice and running experiments to find more voices is what I do. It’s how all of us at AirCut bring the brand to everyone from single guys to moms and from retirees to college kids instead of waiting for these folks to come to us. Companies take note: your brand is out here, do you know what’s being said about it?

About aircutblog

The AirCut is a home hair cutting device for men, moms who cut their son's hair, and for womne with short hair. As seen on Rachael Ray, Real Milwaukee, and your local barber shop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep Your Twitter Followers Close and Your Facebook Fans Closer…AirCut and Social Media

  1. James Stewart says:

    Hello,I was thinking about buying a flowbee, I was searching the webb and found a web page selling aircut ,I thought thats a better idea, this thing looks like a hair drier and you wouldnt have to drag out the vacume cleaner.I entered a contest for a free aircut on the web site and low and behold I get an email that I won.At firstI thouht it was a scandle but a couple days later the ups man rang my door bell and there it was,my major award,it didnt say F R A G I L E but aircut..My wife gave me a hair cut and I was suprised how well it turn out ,this thing is great,My three year old grandson wont sit still at the barbers and his hair always looks lopsided and looks terrible,yesterday he visited and I cut his hair with the aircut and he liked it. It turned out great. His parents couldnt believe it and my family all want to know more about this aircut machine,Thanks aircut…..James Stewart

Leave a Reply

