The Brand is Your House – Build it Well and Protect it

For years when I was a Systems Administrator, friends and family would ask me what exactly I did all day. For those of you whose occupation is self-explanatory (like a plumber, fire-fighter, etc.) I envy you. People just couldn’t understand how baby-sitting a network, even one attached to a $60 million company, was a full-time job.

Build your brand like you build your house

Build your brand like you build your house!

As I have spent the last 3 years making the move to social media and brand marketing, but what I do day-to-day has now become even harder to explain. I tell people: “I’m building a brand, and it’s like building a house. I take an awesome product like the AirCut. A product no one has heard of, and I create a foundation, walls, run wiring, and put the roof on. Eventually, I get folks talking about it.”

I’ve told that story several times, but I never realized how truly relevant that analogy is. Building a brand is EXACTLY like building a house, also because when the house is built, your work is not done. You still have to dust, vacuum, mow, rake, weed, shovel, etc. You have to MAINTAIN the house and yard and keep insects, mice, and burglars out. A brand is no different: Maintain your brand online, respond to customers so they don’t end up belligerent and scorn your brand. Most importantly, keep the lights on and always let your customers know you’re home :).

About aircutblog

The AirCut is a home hair cutting device for men, moms who cut their son's hair, and for womne with short hair. As seen on Rachael Ray, Real Milwaukee, and your local barber shop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

