Midwest Pride This Week at UnGeeked

So the week has finally arrived where I will be traveling (a whole 20 minutes) to Milwaukee for the unGeeked Elite conference. For those unfamiliar, this is a social media conference of epic proportion for the Midwest, and defiantly for Milwaukee. 8 world class speakers from around the country give us “regular” social media folks a chance to ask questions and learn on a smaller level with them open mic style. I am proud of my hometown for this conference and think CD at Soho deserves a special hand for her work in putting this together (my guess is that she is running a little crazier and sassier than usual this week, LOL).Milwaukee is a great town and is doing amazing things with social media. The Midwest is a place where recommendations and stories are second nature, so social media just fits us.

Along with my excitement for this conference comes a little nervousness. I know my hair will look great, but I started as a humble IT guy, more or less working with small user groups or in server rooms. The last few years in social media have been an amazing “expression of extrovert” for me, but the introvert is still there inside me.  Typically, I am the one you see at conferences either not really talking, or conversely, doing all the talking in a small group. This is because I do tend to be shy, but when I start talking about the business of relationships, people want to hear and learn from me. Word to the wise:  Still waters do run deep. The less you talk and the more you help, the more people want more.

All in all, I can’t wait for this conference. I want to talk about myself and our awesome AirCut, yes, but I want to hear your story, too. I love to meet new people and hear their stories in social media, especially the Midwest. Also, I hope the speakers look at this event from their side the same way I do and use this as a chance to learn new things, too. They should know that this is not an event you can “phone in” and jump on a plane. We are the Midwest, and we know what genuine looks like. Look forward to seeing you there.

About aircutblog

The AirCut is a home hair cutting device for men, moms who cut their son's hair, and for womne with short hair. As seen on Rachael Ray, Real Milwaukee, and your local barber shop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

