Parents, Step Away from the Bowl!

Once upon a time, there lived a cash-strapped parent with great intentions. This parent looked at their child‘s hair and thought “it’s mostly one length, I could just cut it myself with a scissors. If only I had some kind of guide to help me…” No one knows exactly why this parent grabbed a bowl, but after that day, many children’s haircuts (and mental states) were permanently affected by this “new way” of cutting hair. I picture a “Good Housekeeping” magazine in the 1950’s suggesting this as a great idea.

Years later, we know better. We know that traumatizing our boys (and girls! ) with a bowl haircut makes childhood even tougher for kids already in a tough world. Also, believing that using a bowl as a guide to cut hair all the same length is a misnomer: A bowl slides and moves. A child slides and moves. A bowl cut is simply way too much potential for disaster.

So what’s the solution? Guards. Guards and stylers on your hair cutter to ensure only the correct amount of hair is removed at a time no matter what the environment around you is doing. But not all guards are created equal, in fact the word we’ve heard about our competitors is that the guards tend to fall off and mess up a perfectly good haircut. Fortunately, AirCut took this into account in our design and tested our styler design in a room full of 2-year-olds who were given espresso and chasing a greased pig. Ok, not really, but our stylers ARE designed only come out when you want them out….and there’s no bowl required.

Are you a former or current “bowl-cut” child? Lend us your thoughts in the comments below!

About aircutblog

The AirCut is a home hair cutting device for men, moms who cut their son's hair, and for womne with short hair. As seen on Rachael Ray, Real Milwaukee, and your local barber shop.
This entry was posted in haircut, humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parents, Step Away from the Bowl!

  1. Ryan says:

    Sadly, I was a “bowl cut” kid. All through elementary school my haircut in my class pictures looked that same, only I looked older.

    Once I got to middle school and begged my mom “please no more mixing bowls”, she gave in. I then became the “buzz cut” kid!

    What I would have given to have my hair tapered, or layered, or spiked! I sure wish aircut would have been around when I was growing up!

  2. aircutblog says:

    Thanks for sharing, Ryan…or should I say “I’m sorry”? I’m glad those awkward styles are behind you now! ~Russ

Leave a Reply

